• Home
  • Invisalign in Turkey: why we don’t recommend it
Back to articles
Invisalign-01 19 May 2022

Invisalign in Turkey: why we don’t recommend it

Lecture : 5 min. par Harmonie Bodyexpert.online

When it comes to correcting misaligned teeth, there are several alternatives available to patients of all ages. More frequent and quite common in the United States, with about 12 million patients treated since its creation in the late 1990s, Invisalign® orthodontic treatment is an innovative dental appliance system, alternative to metal orthodontic braces, allowing to correct overlapping and chewing coordination problems between the lower and upper jaws: dental crowding, overbite or underbite, poor articulation or excessive spacing between certain teeth, Invisalign® is suitable for both young teenagers and adults.

Invisalign® offers a cost and a treatment time approximately equivalent to that of metal braces, but its main advantage lies in its discretion and its easy-use.

Invisalign® works as a gutter system made of transparent material invisible to the naked eye, personalized for each patient, which can be removed at any time. It undeniably offers an interesting solution of comfort and freedom, especially for adult patients whose social or professional life is not compatible with the wearing of metal braces.

Should Invisalign® be done in Turkey?

3 reasons why Body Expert doesn’t advise it

With dental tourism allowing important budget savings on orthodontic care, some patients might be tempted to perform their Invisalign® treatment abroad, especially in Istanbul, Turkey, where dental clinics enjoy a reputation of excellence, with a particularly attractive quality/price ratio. A choice that Body Expert does not recommend, for 3 main reasons:

  • Treatment time: many regular appointments are needed with your Invisalign® dentist, between the first evaluations, the machining, the fitting and maintenance of the “Invisalign® aligners”, and their regular change. Appointments must be every 2 to 6 weeks, to change the aligners, during the 6 to 18 months that the customized treatment will last.
  • Invisalign® solves only the problems of dental alignment: it makes it possible to correct defects of alignment, occlusion or spacing of the teeth, but will not be prescribed to solve deeper dental problems, for which there are alternatives better adapted. If this is the case, contact us.
  • Invisalign fits most orthodontic treatments. A good dentist will advise to start by solving deep dental problems requiring the installation of implants and/or prostheses (crowns or bridges) and composite dressings for decayed or devitalized teeth, before starting an Invisalign treatment of corrections of alignments, spacings or occlusions. The treatments are compatible, but must be followed in the right order.

an Invisalign 3D model

The principle of the Invisalign® treatment

Invisalign treatment begins with a consultation with a practitioner trained in Invisalign technology, who evaluates the corrections to be made, scans your teeth very precisely with a series of patented tools and establishes a precise and personalized digital treatment plan, transforming the alignment of the smile in stages. Unlike metal braces, which typically move teeth in an overall motion, the Invisalign system focuses on each individual tooth, without altering the positioning of teeth already in proper alignment. The patient will wear custom-made translucent plastic aligners that will gradually change the positioning of the teeth.

Each set of aligners must then be worn 20 to 22 hours a day, and changed by the treating dentist every 2 to 6 weeks, according to the pre-established plan. At each appointment, a scan is performed to check the progress of the treatment, or to correct it if necessary. And the patient leaves with new aligners.

Discreet, comfortable and thin enough not to interfere with the mouth or speech, produced in a smooth (neither too flexible nor too hard) they must be removed to eat and for teeth brushing. Depending on the extent of the corrections, the treatment usually lasts between 6 and 18 months. This is considered to be a durable and solid system that offers a real visible result for a shorter period of time than braces. However, the main treatment finished, a translucent retainer should be worn almost permanently on the teeth for another 12 months, until the jawbone is properly fixed around the repositioned teeth. Once this period is over, dentists generally recommend that you continue to wear your transparent retainer for a few hours per week.

a woman placing an Invisalign on her denture

Invisalign treatment, for who ?

The Invisalign treatment is intended for the adults and the teenagers, requiring a medium correction of their alignment and wishing to find a more harmonious smile.

Gaps or occlusions too marked, or the consequences of an accident or a bone disease can impose deeper treatments.

The discretion of the system, invisible and more comfortable than metal braces, may tempt patients who in their social or professional life may be embarrassed by wearing braces. Its removability allows patients to pursue activities (sports or eating) without constraints, while maintaining better oral hygiene during treatment. Out of approximately 12 million patients claimed by Invisalign, about 2 million would be teenagers.

A dentist placing an Invisalign on a patient

What are the steps of the treatment?

Step 1: Dental analysis and mapping

The dentist, certified Invisalign, is equipped with technological tools specifically conceived for and with the Invisalign system, with ultra powerful 3D software (iTero and ClinCheck), which eliminates the approximations and plans the complete course of the treatment. The visual interface produces 3D simulations that map the dentition, with an algorithm that calculates the forces needed for each dental movement and allows the patient to see in advance -virtually- the final result. It implements each alignment that the patient will wear throughout the treatment. The software will assist the dentist to ensure, at each appointment, that every tooth moves in the right order and at the right time.

Step 2: Placement of cleats

Tiny pins, called Smartforce Invisalign cleats, are temporarily placed between the teeth to push them in the right direction and help them align. The aligners, made of an invisible polymer material, are custom-made and fit over the teeth, top and/or bottom, adapting perfectly to the patient’s teeth while gently pushing on the Smartforce cleats and gradually encouraging the teeth to align. The whole process is painless.

Step 3: Checking the alignment and changing the aligners regularly

Throughout the course of treatment, patients should visit their dentist, usually every two weeks, to check the alignment and wear new sets of aligners. This process lasts between 6 and 18 months, depending on each case.

Step 4: Placement of restraints

At the end of the treatment, and if the teeth are aligned according to the pre-established cartography, the patient will need to wear an invisible retainer, to prevent the teeth from returning to their initial position. This will last for about 12 months, until the jawbones have fully integrated the new dental position. After that, and for the rest of his or her life, the patient will need to wear the same retainer regularly, a few hours a week. Most dentists trained in the Invisalign system choose the Vivera restraints, specially designed to be used after an Invisalign treatment and considered more solid and long-lasting.

a set of Invisalign

Is Invisalign compatible with other treatments?

Invisalign is compatible with other treatments. However, all the good dentists will advise to finish any treatment of dental restoration before beginning a treatment Invisalign®. Indeed, the dental implants, like the crowns or the bridges, are directly fixed to the jaw. They are therefore resistant to dental movements. In case of bone decay, it is imperative to perform deep treatments before any alignment work. However, if a bridge or dental veneers can wait, starting an Invisalign alignment treatment will produce the desired effect on the alignment, before placing prostheses. Because each treatment is custom-made and based on the patient’s age and dental condition, each situation is unique, and patients should discuss all options and possible consequences with an experienced professional before starting any orthodontic treatment.

Invisalign and dental implants

Many patients wonder if wearing an implant will allow them to begin Invisalign treatment to align their teeth. Since natural teeth can move and adjust, and implants attach crowns or bridges in the natural position, Invisalign can align with both crowns and natural teeth, especially if the implant is positioned in the back of the mouth.

Invisalign and dental veneers

Dental veneers provide an effective aesthetic change that is essential for many patients to regain their smile by masking gaps, bites or crooked teeth. However, in some cases, people already wearing veneers may need orthodontic treatment. This may be because of a displaced tooth or because they have not observed strict enough dental hygiene. In this case, since metal brackets adhere less well to the porcelain of the veneers than to the natural enamel of the teeth, dentists can either anchor the brackets on the teeth that do not have veneers, or propose an Invisalign treatment: since it does not require a fixative, it is more compatible with dental veneers.

1000 vues

0 commentaires

Il n'y a pas de commentaires pour le moment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Retour aux articles
Invisalign-01 19 mai 2022

Invisalign en Turquie : pourquoi nous le déconseillons ?

Lecture : 5 min. par Antoine Bodyexpert.online

Lorsqu’il s’agit de corriger des défauts d’alignement de dents, plusieurs alternatives s’offrent aux patients de tous âges. Plus connu et plus courant aux Etats-Unis, avec plus de 12 millions de patients traités depuis sa création à la fin des années 1990, le traitement orthodontique Invisalign est un système de gouttière dentaire innovant, alternatif aux bagues orthodontiques en métal, permettant de corriger des problèmes de chevauchement et de coordination de la mastication entre la mâchoire inférieure et la mâchoire supérieure : encombrement dentaire, sur-occlusion ou sous-occlusion, articulation défaillante ou écartement excessif entre certaines dents, Invisalign® s’adresse aussi bien aux jeunes adolescents qu’aux adultes.

Invisalign® offre un coût et un temps de traitement à peu près équivalent à celui des bagues métalliques, mais son principal avantage réside dans sa discrétion et son amovibilité.

Invisalign® est en effet un système de gouttière dentaire réalisé en matière transparente invisible à l’œil nu, personnalisé pour chaque patient, qui peut être retiré à n’importe quel moment. Il offre indéniablement une intéressante solution de confort et de liberté, notamment pour les patients adultes dont la vie sociale ou professionnelle est peu compatible avec le port de bagues métalliques.

Faut-il réaliser son Invisalign en Turquie ? : l’avis de Body Expert

Avec le tourisme dentaire permettant d’importantes économies budgétaires sur les soins orthodontiques, certains patients pourraient être tentés de réaliser leur traitement Invisalign® à l’étranger, notamment à Istanbul en Turquie, où les cliniques dentaires jouissent d’une réputation d’excellence, avec un rapport qualité/prix particulièrement attrayant. Un choix que Body Expert déconseille fortement, et ce pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Temps de traitement : de nombreux rendez-vous réguliers sont nécessaires avec votre dentiste breveté Invisalign®, entre les premières évaluations, l’usinage, la pose et le maintien des “aligners Invisalign®”, puis le changement régulier d’appareillage : un rendez vous est en effet nécessaire, chaque 2 à 6 semaines, pour changer les aligners, durant les 6 à 18 mois que va durer le traitement personnalisé.
  • Invisalign® ne résout que les problèmes d’alignement dentaire : il permet de corriger des défauts d’alignement, d’occlusion ou d’espacement des dents, mais ne sera pas prescrit pour résoudre des maux dentaires plus profonds, pour lesquels il existe des alternatives mieux adaptées. Si c’est le cas, contactez-nous.
  • Invisalign s’adapte à la plupart des traitements orthodontiques. Un bon dentiste conseillera de commencer par résoudre des problèmes de dentition profonds nécessitant la pose d’implants et/ou de prothèses (couronnes ou bridges) et pansements en composites pour les dents cariés ou/et à dévitaliser, avant d’entamer un traitement Invisalign de corrections d’alignements, d’espacements ou d’occlusions. Les traitements ne sont pas incompatibles, mais doivent être suivis dans le bon ordre.

Une modélisation 3D d’une gouttière Invisalign

Le principe du traitement Invisalign®

Le traitement Invisalign commence par une consultation avec un praticien formé à la technologie Invisalign, qui évalue les corrections à faire, scanne très précisément votre dentition avec une série d’outils brevetés et établit un plan de traitement numérique précis et personnalisé, transformant l’alignement du sourire par étapes. Contrairement aux bagues métalliques, qui font généralement bouger les dents dans un mouvement d’ensemble, le système Invisalign se concentre sur chaque dent individuellement, sans modifier le positionnement des dents offrant déjà le bon alignement. Le patient va porter des “aligners” fabriqués sur mesure en plastique translucide, qui vont progressivement modifier le positionnement des dents.

Chaque jeu d’aligneurs doit ensuite être porté 20 à 22h par jour, et être changé par le dentiste traitant toutes les 2 à 6 semaines, selon le plan préétabli. A chaque rendez-vous, un scanner est réalisé pour vérifier la bonne évolution du traitement, ou pour le corriger éventuellement. Et le patient repart avec ses nouveaux aligners.

Discrets, confortables et suffisamment fins pour ne pas gêner la bouche ni l’élocution, ils doivent être ôtés pour manger et pour se brosser les dents. Selon l’importance des corrections, le traitement dure d’habitude entre 6 et 18 mois. Un système de contention considéré comme durable et solide et offrant un vrai résultat visible sur une durée moins longue que les bagues, mais qui oblige cependant, une fois le traitement terminé, de continuer à porter durant douze mois encore, en quasi permanence, un système de contention translucide sur les dents, le temps que l’os maxillaire se fixe bien autour des dents repositionnés. Cette période terminée, les dentistes conseillent ensuite généralement de continuer à porter, quelques heures par semaine, leur contention transparente.

une femme mettant un goutière Invisalign

A qui s’adresse le traitement Invisalign ?

Le traitement Invisalign s’adresse aux adultes et aux adolescents, nécessitant une correction moyenne de leur alignement et souhaitant retrouver un sourire plus harmonieux.

Des écarts ou des malocclusions, ou les conséquences d’un accident ou d’une maladie osseuse peuvent imposer des traitements plus profonds.

La discrétion du système, invisible et plus confortable que des bagues métalliques, peut tenter les patients qui dans leur vie sociale ou professionnelle peuvent être complexés par le port de bagues. Son amovibilité permet de poursuivre des activités (sportives ou alimentaires) sans contraintes, tout en maintenant une meilleure hygiène buccale au cours du traitement. Sur environ 12 millions de patients revendiqués par Invisalign, environ 2 millions seraient des adolescents.

Un dentiste place un Invisalign sur une patiente

Quelles sont les étapes du traitement ?

Étape 1 : Analyse et cartographie dentaire

Le dentiste, certifié Invisalign, est équipé d’outils technologiques spécifiquement conçus pour et avec le système Invisalign, avec des logiciels de 3D ultra performants ( iTero et ClinCheck), qui éliminent les approximations et planifient le parcours complet du traitement. L’interface visuelle produit des simulations 3D qui cartographient la dentition, avec un algorithme calculant les forces nécessaires pour chaque mouvement dentaire et permettent au patient de voir à l’avance -virtuellement- le résultat final. Il permet de produire chaque aligner que portera le patient tout au long du traitement. Le logiciel permet au dentiste de s’assurer, à chaque rendez-vous, que chaque dent bouge dans le bon ordre et au bon moment.

Étape 2 : Pose des taquets

De minuscules plots, appelés taquets Smartforce Invisalign, sont provisoirement fixés entre les dents pour les pousser dans le sens voulu et les aider à s’aligner. Les gouttières d’alignement, en matière polymère invisible, sont fabriqués sur-mesure et viennent chausser les dents, en haut et/ou en bas, en s’adaptant parfaitement aux dents du patients tout en poussant doucement sur les taquets Smartforce et encourager progressivement les dents à s’aligner. L’ensemble est indolore.

Étape 3 : Contrôle de l’alignement et changement des gouttières régulier

Tout au long de son traitement, le patient doit se rendre chez son dentiste, toutes les deux semaines en général, pour checker l’évolution de l’alignement et porter de nouveaux jeux de gouttières, ou aligners. Ce processus dure entre 6 et 18 mois, selon les cas.

Étape 4 : Pose de contentions

A l’issue du traitement, et si la dentition s’est réalisée selon la cartographie établie, le patient devra continuer à porter une gouttière de contention invisible, pour éviter que les dents reviennent à leur position initiale. Et ce durant 12 mois environ, le temps que l’os maxillaire ait bien intégré la nouvelle position dentaire. Après, et jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, le patient conservera sa contention en la mettant régulièrement, quelques heures par semaine. La plupart des dentistes formés au système Invisalign choisissent les contentions Vivera, spécialement conçues pour être utilisées après un traitement Invisalign et considérées comme plus durables.

un set de goutières Invisalign

Invisalign est-il compatible avec d’autres traitements ?

Invisalign est compatible avec d’autres traitements. Cependant, tous les bons dentistes conseilleront de finir tout traitement de restauration dentaire avant de commencer un traitement Invisalign®. Logique : les implants dentaires, comme les couronnes ou les bridges, sont directement fixés à la mâchoire. Ils résistent donc à des mouvements dentaires. En cas de dégradation osseuse, il est impératif de réaliser des traitements profonds (greffe osseuse dentaire par exemple) avant tout travail d’alignement. Cependant, si un bridge ou des facettes peuvent attendre, entamer un traitement d’alignement Invisalign permettra de produire l’effet voulu sur l’alignement, avant la pose de prothèses. Chaque traitement étant réalisé sur mesure, ainsi qu’en fonction de l’âge et de l’état dentaire du patient, chaque situation est unique, et les patients doivent aborder toutes les options et les conséquences possibles avec un professionnel expérimenté, avant de se lancer dans un traitement orthodontique.

Invisalign et implant dentaire

Nombre de patients se demandent si, en portant un implant, ils peuvent entamer un traitement Invisalign pour aligner leurs dents. Les dents naturelles pouvant bouger et s’ajuster, et les implants fixant des couronnes ou des bridges en respectant l’emplacement naturel, Invisalign peut s’aligner à la fois sur les couronnes et les dents naturelles, surtout si l’implant est positionné au fond de la bouche.

Invisalign et facettes dentaires

Les facettes dentaires apportent un changement esthétique efficace, essentiel à de nombreux patients pour retrouver le sourire, en masquant des espaces, des occlusions ou des dents de travers. Cependant, dans certains cas, des personnes portant déjà des facettes peuvent avoir besoin de traitement orthodontique. A cause d’une dent déplacée ou pour n’avoir pas observé une hygiène dentaire suffisamment stricte. Dans ce cas, comme les bagues métalliques adhèrent moins bien à la porcelaine des facettes qu’à l’émail naturel des dents, les dentistes pourront soit ancrer les bagues sur les dents ne portant pas de facettes, ou proposeront un traitement Invisalign : celui-ci n’ayant pas besoin de fixateur, il est plus compatible avec les facettes dentaires.

2272 vues

0 commentaires

Il n'y a pas de commentaires pour le moment.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.